Smoking Gun

To all who view my blogs sorry it’s been awhile since I have been back here. There are a few reasons. I finished AT with a Field Artillery unit, and my girlfriend has been visiting so I just got back.  What to say, what to say….. First of all I am grateful that I got to drill with another unit for AT since my current unit is in Kuwait. What an incredible time to do this. This is my first AT as a Chaplain Candidate that I have  been unsupervised by other Chaplains. My former supervisor taught me a great deal, not to mention I’ve learned a lot from US Army Chaplain School. Well this blog is not only a blog about sermons, the Bible, our Christian’s walk with God, but also my own personal life, & journey of faith with God. Like every Christian I continue down the walk of faith. A lot is going on I realize in the news today.

ImageEconomic, social, and political turmoil worldwide. But what it all centers on is Christ being the savior of the world, complete ruler and controller, and letting him be the center of our lives. Many Christians have lagged this, even I have at times. The Holy Spirit has been dealing with me on a wide range of issues- my own sin, my faithfulness to God, and my attitude, and aspect with how I deal with it. To be honest I am one of those people whom panics and worries much. God is slowly working in me to show me that I don’t have everything in control and that I am not God. Control is a central area of our lives that we must also surrender to God. I don’t care if you’re a new believer, or have known him for over 50 years God wants to be the central role in our lives. Also I think everyone is trying to find satisfaction, meaning, and acceptance and it doesn’t matter how hard you work, it’s not based on good deeds but you are justified , accepted, and a child of God, if you believe in his son. My biggest problem in the past is that I would compare myself to other mega ministries and think, “Gee I must not be doing enough.” Quite the contrary, Paul told us:

“We will not boast about things done outside our authority. We will boast only about what has happened within the boundaries of the work God has given us, which includes our working with you.”

2 Corinthians 10:13

God is dealing with me on this issue. I can’t say I have claimed over 10,000 baptisms or got 11 million people saved. But I answered the call for God and my country to serve in this capacity. God gives us different gifts and I believe counseling, and 1-1 is better for me to handle soldiers. I am to be there for soldiers, provide their needs, and letting them know there is still hope in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I don’t share all the details of my ministry because much of what I do with soldiers remains confidential, and I will do nothing to jeopardize that trust. My reward is in heaven, and I pray and hope I made a difference with someone each time I see them. I talked to many soldiers about their relationship with God, their hurts, habits, and hang-ups and in some ways it reflects back on me that my life isn’t so bad after all. I have talked to many about family members that are hurting, and what’s hurting them in their personal lives.

In many ways, US Army Chaplains carry the burdens, shoulder them with soldiers. I don’t boast in my own ability with anything- whether that’s completing seminary, being the best Chaplain and future pastor, it’s a complete DEPENDENT relationship with God. We are only going to be as good as our reliance is on Him.  I look in the church today and they have skimmed over to disciple people. There are pastors that love the limelight, conferences, writing books, and love to tell a good story with applause and a theatrical production show. But when the cameras come off, how much of a chance did they have to influence that person on a 1-1 basis, personally? “How’s your day going and walk with Christ? It’s more than just a door greeter.” It’s not just about the numbers, but the person. Were they better off after you talked with them? Why boast about your achievements, and the numbers as ‘Your’ definition of success?

“As the scriptures say, ‘If you want to boast, boast only about the LORD’. When people commend themselves, it doesn’t count for much. The important thing is for the Lord to commend them.”

2 Corinthians 10:17-18

           I had a great vacation with my future wife,  and girlfriend Robin. I miss her dearly, and there’s not a day that goes by that I don’t’ think about her. I am excited about our relationship and the plan God has for us. We had an awesome vacation near Folly Beach and here in Charlotte, NC.  On a further note, 3 soldiers were killed with the SC National Guard- I did not want to chatter their deaths on facebook, unlike many people. . If you’re reading this blog keep the family in your prayers  of Lt. Ryan Rawl, Sgt John Meador II, SFC Matthew Thomas. We are still at war despite what the media talks about pulling out. We’ve all done an oath to uphold the rule of law, and to follow the Constitution. This is a heavy toll and sacrifice that the 1% of American is still fighting and paying for. I hope the other 99% will also realize that too. Image

NOTE: If you have anything to say about any of my post or want to talk, please leave a comment, and feel free to contact me in the “About me” section. God Bless!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Smoking Gun

  1. Sean, be glad that you are not like those Mega Churches on TV. Paul told the Thessalonians that there must come a falling away first before the rapture. The “falling away” he was speaking of was a turning from the TRUTH of the Gospel. “Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart form the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils; speaking lies in hypocrisy: having their conscience seared with a hot iron” (I Timothy 4:1&2) “Perverse disputings of en of corrupt minds, and destitute of the truth, supposing that gain is godliness: from such withdraw thyself. (I Timothy 6:5)

Leave a Reply

