Where, Share, At and Can Be thru God

Sorry it’s been awhile since I blogged last time. I have been doing a lot of stuff and preparing for my summer training with the Army not to mention some summer catching up with some other stuff. You know this subject has been eating at me for weeks and I think it’s only appropriate that I probably do share it. I think as Christians many of us get caught up on what other people are doing, what their ministries are, and we second guess ourselves. This has been a constant torment for me the last few weeks.  I want to discuss about knowing God’s will for our lives and how he gives us the ability to speak and evangelize through him. Usually questions of importance arise during this series of questioning some that are important and relevant to our lives:

  • Am I doing God’s Will?
  • What is God’s will exactly?
  • What if I am not prepared or ready yet for what God has in store for me?
  • Even when I know what his will, how will God let me accomplish it?
  • “Well I am not good enough God to be used by you, I don’t have what it takes”

These are important questions that I usually see myself talking about every week as a Chaplain Candidate and someone who wants to do God’s will and accomplish the task he has for my life. I am going to highlight some important scripture verses that are relevant for this question. I think many Christians assume we must have a ‘title’ to accomplish his will. You don’t have to be a Chaplain or Pastor to do that. You can just be yourself and pick up a bible and fulfill the Great Commissioning as well. It includes all of the CHURCH and that includes Joe Somes .  I think it’s important for any believer to know number 1, you can’t do anything that God has called you to do- unless you rely on the power of God, not yourself to accomplish it:

5 “Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.” John 15: 5 NLT

First no power we have comes from ourselves. If we remain in Jesus and remain obedient to him as he says, we will produce much fruit and have an everlasting harvest. Another illustration that shows God will remain faithful as we serve him and are obedient to what he has given us number 2 as is given in Matthew:

29 To those who use well what they are given, even more will be given, and they will have an abundance. But from those who do nothing, even what little they have will be taken away.” Matthew 25: 29, NLT

             First to do what God has enabled to do we must constantly rely on God and not ourselves and with what we have God has given us, we must faithfully use to the fullest extent for his Glory and Kingdom. Instead of looking into others ministry or “I can’t be happy until X happens” or “I can’t really go to God until I get things straighten out or Y happens” it will never get done. Both the passages from John and Matthew point out to a much more closer understanding- remaining in Christ for his will to be done through you.

                           Look at what you have. You don’t need a Masters in Divinity to preach the Word or to touch others in your life or 12 years of theological experience and pastoring. You don’t need to make a ton of money to give to God’s kingdom. You don’t need to marry and settle down to get everything you think God wants to give you, awarded at a time when you are trying to accomplish your own will in the flesh on your own time, instead of God’s.  You don’t need to compare yourself to others and how God has blessed them and start thinking that what you’re doing is wrong even if you have remained obedient. God just wants you. Use WHAT YOU DO HAVE, and as in Matthew says much more will be given.

               I like to think God uses the least of society to accomplish his will. You don’t have to be anyone great or someone great or famous to really preach God’s Word.  I watch television and see a lot of ‘televangelist’ out there and see the great crowds and many do preach from the Bible (while others don’t) and thinking to yourself “Well I wish I had that calling and anointing.” As a believer you do. You have the knowledge and Word of God and his laws and decrees that are written in our hearts.

 6 “O Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I can’t speak for you! I’m too young!”

 7 The Lord replied, “Don’t say, ‘I’m too young,’ for you must go wherever I send you and say whatever I tell you. 8 And don’t be afraid of the people, for I will be with you and will protect you. I, the Lord, have spoken!” 9 Then the Lord reached out and touched my mouth and said,

   “Look, I have put my words in your mouth!
10 Today I appoint you to stand up
against nations and kingdoms.
Some you must uproot and tear down,
destroy and overthrow.
Others you must build up
and plant.”

Jeremiah 1:6-10, NLT

Ask yourself this where you are at right now-

  • Whose in my life right now that I can share the Gospel with and how can I make a difference through them?
  • Am I really living and achieving God’s fullest potential in what his word says?
  • Is there anything the Holy Spirit is convicting me on that I need to re-examine myself on?

Another but simple passage in scripture points this out. Many times I even get wrestles myself in my calling and my everyday life. “God am I doing everything you want me to do?”, “Am I living up to your full potential?” These are questions that haunt me and sometimes I have to remind myself to slow down and just soke it in.

33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matthew 6: 33 NLT

3rd seek God’s kingdom. Everyday when you get up. Not just on Sundays or on Wednesday nights. Once you begin to seek you will find. All the rest will take care of itself and be added to you. And let’s face it- when we preach and do what God wants us to do, none of it is about us anyway- but him! If your ministry is focused on him foremost than you will never go wrong. Seek him first and the rest will be added. Isn’t that hard to believe sometimes though? Just something as simple as that? I will admit for me it is. Who do I marry God? Where should I live? How do you want my ministry and this calling for my life to turn out?  Sometimes we get so caught up in the ‘world’s standard’ on how to live. The world tells us what is a good time to get married and have kids. The World tells us their time frame in doing things instead of relying on God. When did Abraham conceive a son? How old was Isaac when he got married? How long did Joseph wait until he ran Egypt? How long did David have to wait until he became King?

It’s time that Christians start to know God’s will in their life through God and not what the world tells us. The world is lost, hopeless looking for hope and finding it all in the wrong places. Remember Jesus is the driver and you are the passenger and sometimes even I have to remind myself of that.  Sometimes I am like “Well God I have to be here to do x,y, z” and “Am I really doing enough for you God with the full 24 hours you have given me this day?” I use to really get worked up in this and sometimes have to tame myself not to get to caught up in every little detail. Sometimes I always think I will miss out on something. Don’t we all? Don’t we get scared that we have missed out God’s will for our lives or what he has the best in store for us? Sometimes the Devil will try to think we have. He will make us feel bad about what we haven’t done so far or where we haven’t yet been. But this passage is so simple, yet worry free:

15 Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” James 4: 15 NLT

So slow down. Stop comparing. Stop getting all worked up. Just relax. Know that God is in control. If you remain in him and he remains in you he will let all the logistics work themselves out. God won’t leave you hanging. He hasn’t forgotten about you. Concentrate on his goodness and always come to him in thanksgiving in praise and in prayer. Don’t get caught up in other people’s time tables or what the world tells you but God.  14 “The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.” Exodus 14: 14

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where, Share, At and Can Be thru God

  1. Paula Ruby says:

    Impressive .A Stand up job Sean : )
    Be encouraged,persevere and know that all things work for your good and His glory- Paula Ruby

Leave a Reply

