Getting out of the Boat

Image

Tonight I was reflecting on my life and what it all really means on Earth. Have you had one of those ‘ah hah’ moments? If you haven’t read previous blog posts or ever heard me preach you will hear how I always say that life is too short. We hear someone on the news who dies everyday not to mention you might have had someone close to you die. I was thinking about this passage,

Matthew 14:22-33:

Jesus Walks on the Water

 22 Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd. 23 After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone, 24 and the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it.

 25 Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. 26 When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear.

 27 But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”

 28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

   29 “Come,” he said.

   Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

 31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

 32 And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. 33 Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

Image

              I have herd this passage over analyzed and what this means and that. And I want to fit this passage into my life right now and even maybe yours.  You know if I never took a leap of faith to get into ministry and leave politics behind and pursue the Army Chaplaincy I don’t know how things might have turned out. If I didn’t crawl out from under my rock what might happen. I would have missed out on the very best God had in store for me. It’s still a leap of faith…. how will I finish seminary? How will my marriage to my future Robin work out? I don’t want to re-live being broke, and divorced like my parents were, how do I believe God has the best for me? Does God want me to work on a church or do missions and evangelism down the road? I don’t know. But it got me thinking why aren’t we getting out of the boat? Is it fear of change? Fear of the unknown and how that could affect our circumstances? I think many mundane Christians are missing out on the best God has in store for them. 

               It’s interesting how Peter used his faith at first- then it wavered when adversity hit and the waves began to roar. Are we going to run from what God called us to do, when we meet a little resistance or have faith that we are doing the plan God called us to do? I think the real story is sticking it out toward the end no matter what the results are. Why do we doubt God has our best interest in us? Why don’t we think that he plans to harm us but not help us? This passage can be interpreted in many ways to mean different things. Peter had to use his faith- to get out of the boat, walking on water, and believing Jesus was not a Ghost. Notice that God did all the heavy lifting. All Peter had to do was just believe and act on that belief. It’s so easy to give up. It’s so easy to have a pity party. It’s so easy to listen to the Devil’s lies and our own emotions. But we will never mature, never grow, never fulfill God’s calling in our lives unless we step out of the boat in faith. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

