What is real Worship?

This post if for all you who worship. Yes you. And believe it or not you do actually worship something. Is it your car, career, clothes, relationships, or is it something higher-i.e. God? What does it mean to really worship, what’s the bible’s interpretation on this? There are many different denominations in the body of Christ that have different styles, meanings, and interpretations. Sitting in pews reading hymn books, chanting or reciting if you’re more liturgical. More dancing in the aisle and freely worshipping if you’re charismatic. Or like me contemporary where the words are on the screen and you can lift your hands up in worship. I think we can get too bent out of shape how it’s done and many churches can argue and split because of differences in the carpet. But one verse sits out above the others.

“God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.” John 4:24, ESV.

This verse makes it clear how God is to be worshipped and I think no matter what your style or taste or flavor it’s all the same- worship God in Spirit and Truth.

“What then shall we say, brothers and sisters? When you come together, each of you has a hymn, or a word of instruction, a revelation, a tongue or an interpretation. Everything must be done so that the church may be built up.” 1 Corinthians 14:26.

Paul is exhorting believers to come together and to provide their natural abilities whether that’s to sing, prophesy, teach, or encourage and build up one another all is the same in the same setting with. God is interested in you and the natural gifts, talents and abilities the Holy Spirit has gifted you with and to use them to glorify God. True worship is giving your heart to God, in complete surrender and it’s not about you about Him. Prayer is another form of worship and it shows we are wholly dependent on God and it’s a form of surrender. Many of us can get caught up in worship and where to go; this was clearly evident in Jesus time and ministry on the Earth that the Jews worshipped in Jerusalem and the Samartians claimed to worship on the mountain, here is the verse in proper context: John 4:21-23:

21 “Woman,” Jesus replied, “believe me, a time is coming when you will worship the Father neither on this mountain nor in Jerusalem. 22 You Samaritans worship what you do not know; we worship what we do know, for salvation is from the Jews. 23 Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in the Spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks.”

Jesus was seeking those whom the Father was seeking for true worship. Give up your idols- Iphone, Ipod, crackberry, and other gizmos for Jesus who will never fade away. I leave below the lyrics of a great song- Heart of Worship, popular, sung by many churches:

When the music fades
All is stripped away
And I simply come
Longing just to bring
Something that’s of worth
That will bless your heart

I’ll bring You more than a song
For a song in itself
Is not what You have required
You search much deeper within
Through the way things appear
You’re looking into my heart

I’m coming back to the heart of worship
And it’s all about You
It’s all about You, Jesus
I’m sorry, Lord, for the thing I’ve made it
When it’s all about You
It’s all about You, Jesus

King of endless worth
No one could express
How much you deserve
Though I’m weak and poor
All I have is yours
Every single breath

I’ll bring you more than a song
I’ll bring you more than a song
More than a song
I’ll bring you more than a song
I’ll bring you more than a song
You’re looking into my heart
Looking into my heart
You’re looking into my heart
Into my heart
I’ll bring you more than a song
I’ll bring you more than a song
I’ll bring you more than a song
I’ll bring you more than a song

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

