Spiritual Warfare is REAL

 Image

           I don’t know how many hits this blog has gotten recently. I have been AWOL. On many things in life lately, I hate to say that. 2012 hasn’t been a really ripening season for me. It’s been a season of testing and trials. One that I don’t say that I have been great to do. I turn on the news everyday and everything seems to get worse. It seems like the whole world is on a track to Hell spinning out of control with no end in sight. Unemployment’s up. High paying jobs are scarce. Immorality is rampant. Much of the church is asleep. I believe many Christians have become materialistic and more caught up on ‘what I can get from God’ instead of ‘what can I do for God’. Spiritual Warfare is real. I am here talking about personal experience. If you aren’t doing God’s will, and especially if you’re not a believer in Christ-don’t worry he won’t bother you. Just continue on the road your on without God and you’ll be in Satan’s hands.

                    I have a Netflix subscription and I see there seems to have been a lot of fascination with the occult and  supernatural in recent years- Ghost Hunters, Destination Truth,  Ghost Adventures, Paranormal Activity movies, the list seems to go. Isn’t is really messed up that we have to pay an expensive movie ticket to be scared? Or why is our society so messed up we have to see Saw VI? Why do we live in a culture that likes to celebrate death, fear, and the Devil? Don’t get an Ouija board. Don’t’ contact the other side. When you die you go to Heaven or Hell plain and simple. The folks you contact are demons. Not actual Humans. Why is America more fascinated by doing evil with that than seeking the real God of our universe, the author of faith not fear?  I am not saying dressing up your 2yr old in a Pumpkin costume is wrong to get some candy necessarily, but I don’t think many Christians or people for that matter are really aware of the spiritual implications behind it. 

       There is a complete evil spiritual realm controlled by Satan that plans to subdue the mechanisms of the Church and believers in general individually. If Satan can get us distracted, especially on ourselves, he’s won. 2012 hasn’t been my best year. I haven’t been the best academically involved student and I have been moved to various units. My Pastor was recently voted out and half the church left, only leaving me questioning even more if what I was doing is right or was part of God’s plan all along. I don’t believe God ‘supernaturally’ whispers to me. I have to live like every other believer with his Word and by faith. I can’t please God by faith. And I will admit this year it’s been hard on that. I don’t know why. Maybe God is pruning me as the scriptures say, 

“He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.” John 15:2 NIV

      I can’t say I have lived or acted much like a believer the past year. I have questioned, doubted, been more fearful and forgetful of who God is and his overall plan for my life in ministry. I’ll admit have been in some rocky waters. I haven’t contributed much because I have been spiritually dead lately. I have asked for God’s forgiveness and taken it to prayer. I know I messed up. But I want to let all of you know we all have seasons in our life like that. But the spiritual realm is real. And I got close to it this year. If you don’t pray daily or walk with Jesus you won’t prevail. Don’t walk alone either.   

Image“For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” Ephesians 6:12 NIV

            I hope this Halloween and past year we can all learn how this spiritual warfare is real. Whether it’s for the hearts and minds of man, or the political forces that seek to control us that are ungodly, this war is real. I know in previous posts I have mentioned Ephesians 6. I won’t dedicate this whole post to that, but we need to realize we as the church and individuals who are called to God’s ministry that we can’t preach a gospel of no carrying your cross, and hurts, and hang-ups. We will have that in this life. This war is real. Analyze what’s going on in your life right now. Is it from the enemy?

“Dear friends, do not be surprised at the painful trial you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you.” 1 Peter 4:12 NIV

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

