How Responsive to the Gospel You Are the Longer You Hear It

I just sat at church today and my pastor mentioned the Gospel. He always preaches on the Gospel. And if anything he preached a good subject on idolatry. I realize that I hear the gospel a lot- Yes Jesus came and died for my sins and to Repent. But if you have been a believer for as long as me is there even a possibility you can get BORED of the Gospel? ManHoldingBibleI was thinking of that today. I have been a Christian since a young age but yet today I got bored hearing the same message. Then it hit me. I am really a sinner. I am nowhere near like Christ or going to get there anytime soon. I should be in awe of God’s Word and what the Gospel says about Jesus and following Him. I’ve just had the message drummed into my head that I take it for granted. I should not be taking Jesus for granted by any long stretch of the imagination. Here it is a man who was God but yet was completely perfect without sin. And he came to save ME. Yes me who is one of the worst sinners I can think of and being in seminary does not change that. I need to be changed by the Gospel. That means giving up old habits and hangups and hurts and stop drowning in the past in what I Have or Haven’t done.

24 As for you, see that what you have heard from the beginning remains in you. If it does, you also will remain in the Son and in the Father.” 1 John 2:24

This is wonderful news. It means no I don’t have to rely on my deeds to get me through the door or atleast if I am having a good or bad day with God that he likes or loves me any more less. I have to have to learn to rest in God’s grace everyday and not my own ability. I love Jerry Bridges, he is one of my favorite authors and help founded The Navigators. In his book, “The Discipline of Grace” (which by the way I have on my recommended reading list on this site) he says,

“Your worst days are never so bad that you are beyond the REACH of God’s grace. And your best days are never so good that you are beyond the NEED of God’s grace.”

I was talking to a Muslim today and a few unbelievers and I just realized how hopeless they must feel to be approved by God. All the fasting, all the praying will never get them closer to God neither is obeying the law. I have to remind myself even as Jerry Bridges have said that I am no further away from God on my worst days of sin or failure than in some of my best days whencup-of-coffee everything is good and going peachy. Yes I need to be cleansed from HEARING the Gospel. Everyday sin’s deceitfulness and hardness tries to wrestle with our hearts and our flesh, the Devil, and the world try to steal our affections from Christ and onto ourselves and quietly begin to dig and chip away at our identity in Christ. It’s not a life time once commitment, “Oh let me read my bible and decide for myself if I feel Jesus is there or not today.” For a long time I have been chipped away and have become disbelieving and when I start to believe that the Gospel is Boring that’s when I know I need to repent and put my eyes back on Jesus. I guess I took Jesus for granted and that he ‘would always be there when I needed him’ instead of starting thinking that it’s always based on his Grace and my utter dependance on Him. It’s not based on me and what good or bad I do but based on Jesus that I can even remain in a relationship with Him. A lot of theological big whig seminary folks can easily forget that or not apply that principle to themselves. As Jerry Bridges continues,

“So if we are to live by the gospel every day, all tendency to compare ourselves with other believers, not to mention unbelievers, must be put away. Rather we must measure ourselves against God’s perfect standard and daily confess that we have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

